RSS Feed

Do dogs make your home safer?

Do dogs make your home safer?

Introducing Belle! She is part of my safe home plan!

After years of telling my son that he can’t have a dog in the city because it isn’t fair to the dog and a dog is too much work, my son brings  home Bruce from college and leaves him with me for a year. After graduation, with much protest on my part, my son took Bruce back to British Columbia.  I mourned Bruce’s departure for a few days and then quickly found Belle!

I live in the city and I think that dogs make our homes safer and here is why:

They are an Effective Doorbell

They let you know one way or another when someone, friend or foe, enters your home.  My dog, may pee on the floor in excitement if a man enters, but she lets out a bark first.  If I don’t respond to her bark, she comes to get me to show me what is happening.

They Sleep with/near  your Most Valuable Treasure

Samsung Download Dec 2013 105

My dog sleeps with my daughter.  I’ve heard of stories of children being kid-napped in the middle of the night while the parents are sleeping. I don’t think that I would be able to sleep through the kerfuffle that would happen if someone tried to enter my daughters room.

Also, a few years ago, my  friends’ teenager tried to sneak out of the house in the middle of the night to go to a party.  It did not work – their dog ratted on her.  Dogs like to keep the pack together.

They Introduce you to your Neighbours

I lived in the same house for 16 years and only new my neighbours four doors down and three doors up on my side of the street and two neighbours across the street.  After a month of twice daily walks with Bruce, I met all the neighbours on my block and more!

You learn to say “hi” to other dog owners as the dogs sniff each others’ butts.  Some neighbours don’t like dogs, so they will come tell you about it – especially if your dog got out and trampled their garden or chased their cat.  Other neighbours love dogs and will meet you when they visit your dog.  All-in-all, it is the dog that gets you outside and gets the conversation going.  Knowing your neighbours is a huge part of having a safe home.

I am not the only person to feel safer with a dog in her life.  Here is another blog I found on the same topic: Ways a Dog Makes Your Home Safe.

Please tell me about the dogs in your neighbourhood.  Do you feel safer or less safe with them there?

About Barbara Mossop

GR manager, facilitator, mining engineer, freelance technical writer and spreadsheet wizard, curious, environmentally conscious, mom and dog owner

Leave a Reply

the empty fridge

Discovering Delicious and Creative Ways to Be Less Wasteful in the Kitchen

Melanie Prada

A small cluster of everything I love

fatherfitnessblog

A Fitness blog not for the pros but for the average joes.

Ramen, Ya?

Exploring the world of ramen, one bowl at a time

The Survival Guides

A blog site about surviving life's challenges

Campus Snapshots

The Safety Talk for House Owners

